Latest News

Chinese New Year Celebration Dinner 2018

DATE: Saturday 24 February 2018
TIME: 6.30pm – Drinks and Canapes
7.15pm – Dinner
VENUE: Adelaide BMW, Corner of West Terrace & Currie Street, Adelaide (entry from Phillip Street)
DRESS: Black Tie / Evening or Traditional Dress
COST: $88 pp (ACMA Member & one Spouse/Partner)
$98 pp (non-ACMA members)

Please register using the form below, and send together with payment to Tracey DiBartolo (Secretariat)

Email & Fax numbers are on the registration form. RSVP’s will be accepted until the event is sold out. All registrations will be processed and acknowledged in the order they are received, from the week beginning Monday 15 January 2018.

We look forward to seeing you there, and remember seats are limited so FIRST COME FIRST SERVED!

Presentation of ACMA Prize at the University of Adelaide to Stuart Roberts

At the recent Declaration Ceremony at the University of Adelaide, Prof William Tam represented AMA SA to present the ACMA Prize to Stuart Roberts.

Dr Ghan & Prof Tam

Letter of appreciation from Legacy Families

Dr Chiu, DrHan, Dr Heah

Hello Dr Ghan

Firstly, I would like to sincerely thank you and your Association for supporting Legacy with your kind donation.

As mentioned, If you and a colleague or partner would like to attend our humble Members Luncheon on Thursday 7th December, we would invite you to share with our Members’ some information about the Chinese Medical Association, and present the donation cheque to our President. It is a good opportunity to speak with some of our Legatee Members and to get to know a little more about Legacy, hear an interesting guest speaker and also for a photo opportunity, for inclusion into our Bulletin and Newsletter. If you would like to attend please let me know, and I will sent you all the details.

Please find below some information on Legacy which I hope will be of benefit.

The Legacy Story

Since Federation more than 102,000 Australian servicemen and women have paid the ultimate sacrifice in theatres of operation around the world. Many others returned wounded, either physically or emotionally, from their exposure to war and service. Legacy’s commitment to assist ‘the families’ of those who have served our country in the armed forces is long-standing; it started with a World War I digger’s promise to his dying mate that he’d “look after the missus and the kids”.

Behind each member of the Australian Defence Force who risks everything, there is a family doing the same, and Legacy continues to assist the families of today’s Australian Defence Force personnel, who either lose their lives or their health during their service or subsequently.

Through our contact, service and support to Legacy beneficiaries, we at Legacy see the impact every day of families missing a loved one, a parent or a partner, as a result of their death or incapacitation, particularly when they are currently serving, or as a result of having served their country. These tragedies can have a significant impact on the welfare of entire family: socially, financially and psychologically, especially the children.

Currently, Legacy provides support to over 65,000 families (partners, children or disabled dependants) across Australia, supporting our Australian Defence Force families through hardship, loss, grief, personal development, education, social inclusion, financial and legal issues, and much, much, more. In South Australia alone, we care for over 6,000 beneficiaries.

Legacy is an iconic cause that is part of Australia’s history and culture. Legacy was founded on the ANZAC tradition and represents important values such as mateship, compassion and service that should be celebrated and sustained. Established in 1923, Legacy is a unique and respected Australian charity truly dedicated to supporting Australian Defence Force families suffering financially, and socially, after the death or serious injury of a spouse or parent.

The personal contact of our volunteer Legatees is the key to Legacy support. Individual Legatees are assigned to each family and it is this support, backed by qualified Family Services Officers, which allows Legatees to access the support the families require.

The Badge of Legacy symbolises in its torch the undying flame of service and sacrifice passed on by comrades in war who have sadly passed on. In its wreath of laurel, with its points inverted in remembrance, is the recognition of honour and the reward of those who gave their lives for their country.

Given that over 72,000 Australian’s have served overseas in the last decade, in conflicts such as East Timor, Iraq and Afghanistan, Legacy’s task of supporting young families with children is increasing and will continue to well into the future, and therefore we assure every donation, which is gratefully received, will be faithfully applied. Thank you.

Once again, if you need anything further, please do not hesitate to contact me. Thank you Dr Ghan.

Kindest regards

Gail Chorlton
General Manager Corporate Services

Q&A Session with Kathy and John from Dewings

Dear ACMA-SA Members – a reminder regarding the following event.
Got questions? We’ve got answers! (Plus wine and cheese too)
Q&A Session with Kathy and John from Dewings
6:30pm, Tuesday 21st November 2017

The last 12 months have been a time of massive change for people in business. That includes doctors in practice.
The biggest superannuation reforms of the last decade and the company tax rate changes (which continue to have uncertain ramifications), are just a couple. The road ahead looks even more uncertain, with Labor recently proposing a clampdown on trusts, that will see distributions taxed at a minimum rate of 30%. And all of this while the Budget deficit continues to grow! That can only mean that the pain is likely to continue.

Good advice is now more important than ever. How your affairs are structured and the way you respond to these changes will affect the amount of tax you pay, and in turn, your level of wealth.

We’re here to help. Come along to Dewings and pick our brain for an hour or so. This won’t be a presentation in the traditional sense, but a genuine Q&A session where you can ask about anything that’s on your mind. We can only promise to answer questions about tax and business though! No strings, no obligations, no sales pitch. Just a group discussion about the current tax and business climate, around some drinks and nibbles.

Numbers are limited by room size, so please get your RSVP in early.
Where: Dewings, 5 Hauteville Terrace, Eastwood SA 5063
When: 6:30pm, Tuesday 21st November 2017
Duration: Approximately an hour
Cost: Complimentary for ACMA members and their spouse / colleague / business associates
RSVP: For catering purposes, please RSVP to Tracey by Tuesday 14 November 2017, ph (08) 8361 0105

ACMA Foundation Gala Dinner 2017

For tickets, please contact Tracey Di Bartolo – ACMA secretariat, at
Hurry, whilst stocks last.

Upcoming Events

Sorry, there are currently no upcoming events.

Corporate Sponsors


Major Sponsors